Rhubarb Muffins


It’s Rhubarb time here in Smithers B.C. I’d like to share with you one of my favourite muffin recipes.  Helen Utz shared this recipe with me many years ago.

Rhubarb Muffins

  • 1/2 cup oil
  • 1 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup buttermilk  ( if you don’t have buttermilk on hand, add some vinegar to milk to sour it.  About 2 tbsp. should do the trick )
  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp b. powder
  • 1 tsp b. soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 1/2 cup chopped rhubarb
  • Topping

  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Stir together oil, brown sugar, egg, vanilla, and milk.  In separate bowl sift flour, b. powder, b. soda, and salt.  Add to wet ingredients and stir only to moisten.  Add the chopped rhubarb.  Fill into muffin tins and sprinkle with cinnamon sugar.  Bake @ 375 F for 20 minutes.  Makes 1 1/2 dozen

3 thoughts on “Rhubarb Muffins

  1. Sharon says:

    I’m thinking I might add some bananas to these!

Leave a comment