Montana Mom’s Marvelous Cheesecake


Montana Mom’s Marvelous Cheesecake

I’ve been wanting to share this recipe for a while now but I’ve kept on procrastinating. ” Something that I am very good at “

My brother Carsten brought this recipe home after spending a summer working In the Rocky Mountains at the beautiful Emerald lake Lodge. Sadly in November 1984 he drowned in a kayaking accident off the shore of Spanish Banks in Vancouver.  Whenever I make this cake, I think of him.  So now I would like to share it with you.  I’ve tried different cheesecakes, but this is the one that I will always fall back on.  Enjoy.

Montana Mom’s Marvelous Cheesecake

for the crust

  • 2 cups graham wafer crumbs
  • 1/2 cup butter  (soft)
  • 1/4 cup sugar

Mix graham wafer crumbs, butter and sugar with your hands.  Press into a 26 or 28 inch spring form pan.  Bake @ 350 F for 8 minutes.  Let cool

For the filling

  • 2 pkgs cream cheese
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • zest and juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract

Cream cheese and sugar.  Add eggs and beat until smooth.  Add lemon zest, juice and vanilla.  Pour onto graham crust and bake for 20 min @ 350 F   Cake should be firm to the touch.  It it is still jiggly let bake another 5 minutes.

Topping

  • 500 ml sour cream
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Mix these ingredients together and very carefully pour onto cheesecake.  Turn oven down to 325 F and bake for 7 – 8 minutes.

Let cheesecake cool overnight before serving.  I like it best with fresh berries in the summer, or a berry sauce in the winter.