Quark


Quark ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quark_(cheese)

My father Siegfried Gursche  came for a visit a few weeks ago and he showed me how to make this delicious treat.  It is so easy and has so many uses.

I’ve been following a low carb diet so I’ve used quark for ingredients or substitutions in many recipes.

You will need the following items.

  • A large glass bowl, big enough to hold 2 litres.
  • slotted spoon
  • cheesecloth lined colander
  • big bowl to put colander in to
  • container with tight fitting lid to store your finished product
  1. Pre-heat oven to absolute lowest temperature  150 F  or 70 c
  2. Pour 2 liters of buttermilk into your glass bowl
  3. Place in oven for 6 – 8 hours  ( the buttermilk will separate, half should be whey, half curds )
  4. Take bowl out of oven and at room temperature let it cool for 1 – 2 hours.
  5. Take your slotted spoon and carefully transfer curds to cheese cloth lined colander.
  6. Let drain at room temperature overnight or  8 hours.
  7. Your quark is now ready to enjoy.  Transfer to sealed container and store in fridge

One thought on “Quark

  1. Sharon says:

    You can make quark with buttermilk? I had no idea! Maybe I can tone my hunt for raw milk down a couple of notches.

Leave a comment